The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch

I’m quite shocked to discover that I have not reviewed all the books in the Rivers of London series here on the site.  I adore this series and will have to rectify that error soon.  In the meantime, let me tell you about the newest book in the series that treats magic as just another tool in the arsenal of police-procedural crime solving.

I received an ARC of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

hanging-treeTitleThe Hanging Tree
AuthorBen Aaronovitch
SeriesRivers of London, Book 06
Publish Date: Jan 31, 2017, DAW
Genre: Urban Fantasy
SourceNetGalley

Publisher’s Description: Another gripping and hilarious adventure through the secret streets of London. A tour of what remains and an insight into what once was with a liberal sprinkling of folklore, myth and violent crime. Each of Ben Aaronovitch’s previous Peter Grant novels have been Sunday Times Top Ten HB bestsellers and The Hanging Tree looks set to repeat the feat.

The Hanging Tree was the Tyburn gallows which stood where Marble Arch stands today. Oxford Street was the last trip of the condemned. Somethings don’t change. The place has a bloody and haunted legacy and now blood has returned to the empty Mayfair mansions of the world’s super-rich. And blood mixed with magic is a job for Peter Grant.

Peter Grant is back as are Nightingale et. al. at the Folly and the various river gods, ghosts and spirits who attach themselves to England’s last wizard and the Met’s reluctant investigator of all things supernatural.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Invested Ivana says…

The Hanging Tree is the newest book in the PC Peter Grant/Rivers of London series. More than any other book in the series, The Hanging Tree feels like the very first book—very much like a police procedural—and yet it keeps the metaplot going with new and interesting tidbits.  I love it!

One thing I’ve found particularly interesting about this series is how Aaronovitch plays up the “procedural” side of police procedural. The Met has a method and it will be followed. Notes and incidents are logged in. Investigative actions are assigned by higher-ranked officers to lower ones. It’s all very neat and tidy, with no room for the cowboy detectives American movies seem to favor. It’s a fun counterpoint to the craziness of magic.

I’m really enjoying PC Guleed, the female, hijab-wearing constable that frequently gets stuck as Peter’s partner. I’m really hoping she eventually becomes a permanent part of the Folly.

Our reviews in this series…

Other recommendations…

The Rivers of London series is pretty unique, but you might check out the Alex Verus series by Benedict Jacka for a different perspective on magic in London.

I received an ARC of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

About Invested Ivana

I read fiction for entertainment and to escape my own world; so, I don’t want to read about “real” things. I read non-fiction to learn and be inspired. For the last several years, I’ve read mostly Urban Fantasy and other things supernatural. I also enjoy Historical Fiction. I love books that go deep into characters and worlds. I really want to know the characters, to be able to invest emotionally in them and their challenges. I like learning about cultures, so understanding the world is important to me as well.

Posted on January 17, 2017, in 5-Great, Invested Ivana, Male, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

