Champion by Marie Lu

Boy, oh boy. It took me nearly a month to write this review. In that time, I finished several other books and still found myself reeling over this one. This particular book in the Legend trilogy REALLY hits a soft spot with me. I’ll explain why soon but let’s start with everything else first.

championTitleChampion
AuthorMarie Lu
SeriesLegend, Book 03
Publish Date: November 5, 2013
Genre: YA Dystopian
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionJune and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

I had several misguided speculations on how Champion would go and, with the exception of one, was very wrong about all of them. Marie Lu proves just how hardcore and unpredictable she is as she brings June and Day together for a brilliantly poised ending. Though the characters have led very different lives until the events of Legend bring them together, they are now irrevocably intertwined forever.

June is probably one of my favorite female leads of all time. She’s smart, fun, and leads with her heart AND mind, not as two separate entities. She really cares for a lot of things that people normally wouldn’t believe her capable of due to her past. In her story, she’s got to help Anden discover himself and lead a nation that half hates him, half respects him. She’s got to be able to lead herself and protect the people she’s come to care for. And she’s also got to learn how to let go of the person she loves.

Day fights his own battles in this too as he tries to let his younger brother, whom he’s very protective of, make a decision to help the very same government who experimented on him; he has to become a leader of a group of rebels known as the Patriots, who need him just as badly as he needs them; and he’s also got to fight off the sickness in his brain that’s slowly destroying him and the memories he holds dear.

There’s so much beautiful writing as this story comes to a close. I’ll admit this is one of the few books that has ever come close to making me want to cry. And it’s not because I’m emotional when it comes to books because I’m really not (to be honest, it’s EXTREMELY hard to get me to cry when reading a book). It’s just like I said – this book in particular, especially the ending, tugs at a very deep spot in my own past. Like June, I have had someone dear to me lose his entire memory – our friendship, love, and all that encompassed who we are, gone in just one moment. But unlike her, I wasn’t brave enough to let go. I stayed where she did not. I think that’s why I love her so much because she expressed to me another option I couldn’t envision and a rougher route I might have taken, but wasn’t courageous enough to go down.

badge5v5Champion is a phenomenal end to this series.

Our reviews in this series…

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on January 19, 2017, in 5-Great, Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic, Kat Mandu, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ah, this was such a super fun series! I read them all a bit ago and I was really happy with this ending. Did you see she has a new series coming out? I also have a hard time crying from a book – but man, I just did exactly that last week with A Monster Calls – balled my eyes out.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We’ll have a review of A Monster Calls very soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

