The Woman in the White Mask by Rob Blackwell

Incredible addition to the Soren Chase episodes.  The overall mystery becomes clearer but the plotting and scheming to get it there? Un-freakin’-real!!!

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

33800839Title: The Woman in the White Mask
Author: Rob Blackwell
Series: Soren Chase #3
Publish Date: January 30, 2017
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: Author

Publisher’s Description: Eight years ago, Soren Chase was attacked by a vicious supernatural creature that murdered his friends and stole his memory. Now a mysterious woman in a white mask is forcing him to relive that night—as both the victim and the killer.

Her arrival couldn’t come at a worse time. Someone is raising demons and setting them loose, and only Soren can stop them. But as the supernatural assaults grow more frequent, his visions of the past start to take an alarming toll. It’s a grim race to see which might kill him first.

The Woman in the White Mask is the third novel in the highly-rated Soren Chase series, which mixes urban fantasy, action and suspense. Find out why readers have hailed it as “one of the best paranormal series I’ve ever read” with a unique hero who is “a kindred of Harry Dresden.”

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel. In other words…spoilers.  *BEWARE*


Nervous Nellie says…Nervous_Nellie_100

Soren was on the floor reaching out to John, tears on his face.  John raised a bloody hand back toward him.

Soren Chase is one of my all time favorite supernatural detectives.  In a life fairly reminiscent of any other detective, he gets pounded over and over by supernatural beings bent on hurting or killing anyone that gets in their way.  There is a lot of death, but none horribly graphic.  There is no graphic sex and no blatant, in your face romance. This story doesn’t qualify, in my mind, as horror-it’s more along the lines of thriller/suspense.

I stumbled upon this incredible series and I’ve read every book I could get my hands on.  This is one of the most suspenseful and intense supernatural detective novels I’ve read.  Please, don’t start with book #3 in the series, it’ll just ruin it for you.  Now, I’m all about spoilers, but suffice it to say, I didn’t want any with this story.

badge5v5Soren has been wallowing in guilt ever since his best friend and two other friends were killed at a cabin during a weekend getaway.  That is the very tip of the iceberg.  What had really happened is so totally off the charts, I didn’t see it coming.  The twists and turns of  the investigations, the ensuing answers and the amount of distrust Soren had to sustain was heart breaking.  This character grabbed hold of my imagination and made me hungry for more. While I am over the moon with the ending and several of the reveals in this book, I’m not going to tell.  It’s really THAT good!  You’ll just have to trust me.  It’s totally worth it.

Remember, start with book #1 or at the very least the novella, Closed at Dark.  While it only scratches the surface, it’ll give you a taste of the ride to come.

Our reviews in this series…

Other recommendations…

…you might try  The Inquisitor series, Eric Carter series or Harbinger P.I. series.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

Save

Save

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on January 30, 2017, in 5-Great, Nervous Nellie, Review, Supernatural Thriller. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

