Hungry Ghosts by Stephen Blackmoore

Man! Poor Eric Carter, he doesn’t ever catch a break. He should have known that garnering the attention of two ancient gods is never a good thing.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

hungry-ghostsTitleHungry Ghosts
AuthorStephen Blackmoore
SeriesEric Carter, Book 03
Publish Date: February 7, 2017
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Cover: Christian McGrath
SourceNetGalley

Publisher’s DescriptionNecromancer Eric Carter’s problems keep getting bigger.

Bad enough he’s the unwilling husband to the patron saint of death, Santa Muerte, but now her ex, the Aztec King of the dead, Mictlantecuhtli has come back and it turns out that Carter and he are swapping places. As Mictlantecuhtli breaks loose of his prison of jade Carter is slowly turning to stone.

To make matters worse both gods are trying to get Carter to assassinate the other, but only one of them can be telling him the truth. And whichever god is left standing Carter’s likely to suffer the consequences.

Carter’s solution? Kill them both.

If he wants to get out of this situation with his soul intact he’ll have to go to Mictlan, the Aztec land of the dead, and take down a couple of death gods while facing down the worst the place has to offer him: his own sins.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

I have an interesting history with this series. I read Dead Things way back when it first came out. I didn’t care for it at the time, yet it stuck with me. So, when Graphic Audio developed an abridged audio play of the book, I decided to give it another try. GA did a fantastic job with both Dead Things and Broken Souls. And yet, I am aware they have to abridge the book, which makes me wonder what I missed.

So, when Hungry Ghosts came out, I decided I needed to read—not listen to—Dead Things and Broken Souls before I could read book 3. This time, I thought they were fabulous. This is a perfect example of how subjective the “business” of book reviewing is. 🙂

Hungry Ghosts was more than fabulous. It’s the culmination of events in the first two books, and the ending wasn’t something I foresaw at all. In hindsight, it feels as if it should have been obvious, but then, things usually do in hindsight. Hungry Ghosts finishes the major story arc, so I’m interested to see what will come next for Eric. Hopefully, we’ll get a book about the fallout of everything that happens in Hungry Ghosts.

badge5v5On the “yay for academics” front, Hungry Ghosts sent me on a short hunt for information about the Aztec pantheon and pronunciation of Aztec names. I did find a pronunciation guide and list of some person and place names. I practiced saying a lot of the names, and that was fun, but I still ended up calling the two Aztec gods Mickey and Mikey in my head. 😉

So, here’s another series I love. This one is gritty and tragic with very little in the way of happy endings, but so very good. I highly recommend it.

Nervous_Nellie_100Nervous Nellie says…

This is an urban fantasy, no sex, drug usage, and plenty of graphic language. There are ghosts, monsters, and a lot of manipulation by gods. There are unpronounceable names and places and incredibly impossible situations that miraculously turn out just fine. Well, fine enough, anyway. Sort of fine. Ok, not dead, and that’s all we can hope for.

This protagonist has a sarcasm streak a mile wide and I love it. He stumbles through problem after problem and all without a plan. He goes with the flow and hopes for the best. He is manipulated, beat up, shot at, magicked and he still keeps going. Energizer bunny has nothing on Eric Carter.

badge5v5Now the ending isn’t exactly clear cut, so fans are assured of another book, which is fantastic. I can’t really tell you much was revealed in this book, but it was a twisty ride up and down, down and around until Eric ran out of ground at the edge of the town of Mictlan. Who are his friends? Not who he thought. Who are his enemies? That’s an unknown too. Everyone has their own agenda, even Eric, though his changes from moment to moment.

This is an incredible series, and it needs to start with book #1, Dead Things. GraphicAudio takes Eric’s world and makes it come to life with sound effects and different voices – kind of like a movie. If reading a book is more your style, I’ve done that too. Either road you take is not a mistake. This is a book for the … um … well … books. 😉

Our reviews in this series…

Other recommendations…

Try these other dark urban fantasies involving necromancers and the dead: The Felix Castor series by Mike Carey, the Morgan Kingsley series by Jenna Black, and the Deathspeaker Codex series by Sonya Bateman.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

Save

Save

About Invested Ivana

I'm currently a freelance line editor, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Red Adept Editing or any of my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on February 1, 2017, in 5-Great, Invested Ivana, Nervous Nellie, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

