Nell’s Gossip 2/5/2017

Welcome to One Book Two. I love gossip and what gossip is any better than book or author gossip? Normally, I’m not one to spread rumors, so be sure you listen close the first time.

This Weeks Gossip:

I reviewed Woman in the White Mask by Rob Blackwell on January 30, 2017.  If you want to read the review, check it out:

Woman in the White Mask by Rob Blackwellforest of forever newPretender

This is book #3 in the Soren Chase novels.  Starting February 1, 2017, book #1, The Forest of Forever and book #2, The Pretender will be on sale for $1.00.  Also, if you just want to try Soren’s world, you could get Closed at Dark for the low price of nothing.  Yep, it’s free.  As I’ve said, I am not classifying this series as horror, but some do, so just letting you know.  Here’s my other reviews:

 

Next on the list is some sad news.  It appears that Cisco Suarez may be sewing up his last adventure.  FirewaterAccording to Domino Finn, Fire Water is the 5th book in the series. It’s long, it closes out the main story ARC, and it (hopefully) answers all your important questions.  Ends of series always make me sad.  At least it sounds like the end of the series. That is if Domino Finn isn’t a big cat playing with his readers like helpless mice. Which he could easily do.  You know how devious authors can be.

Title:  Firewater
Author: Domino Finn
Series: Black Magic Outlaw #5

To Be Published: approximately February 10, 2017
Description: none yet…keep checking back with me

Here’s my review of book #1, Dead Man.

 

Another author I love broke some news to me the other day.  Steve McHugh is working on the last Hellequin Chronicles book. Not ashamed to tell you– I cried.  I know I have Promise of Wrath on my TBR pile, but if you know me at all you’ll know that I’m hoarding it because the series is coming to an end.  I don’t know if my heart can take it. *sniffle*

Crimes Against Magic    $1.99     free on kindle unlimited
Born of Hatred                  $1.99     free on kindle unlimited
With Silent Screams        $1.99     free on kindle unlimited
Lies Ripped Open              $1.99     free on kindle unlimited
Promise of Wrath            $1.99     free on kindle unlimited
Infamous Reign (novella .99  

Onto better news!  Kristi Charish is working on copy edits for Owl and the Electric Samarai so we will SOON be able to see how Captain is fairing with his catnappers.

Title:  Owl and the Electric Samaruaiowl and the electric samurai
Author: Kristi Charish
Series: Owl #3
To Be Released:  May 8th or 9th, 2017
Description:  The third exciting novel starring the unforgettable antiquities thief Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. From the pen of rising urban fantasy star Kristi Charish (Owl and the Japanese Circus) and for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

The International Archaeology Association (IAA) is responsible for keeping all things supernatural under wraps. They’re also responsible for ruining the promising archaeology career of Alix Hiboux, better known as Owl.

Needless to say, Owl’s still a little sore about that.

Just to keep Owl’s life lively, the IAA has opened a bounty on the two designers of World Quest, the online RPG that is much, much more than it seems. Owl needs to locate the notorious gaming duo before the other mercenaries do. But finding the gamers won’t be easy since every clue points to them hiding out in the legendary lost city of Shangri-La. Not to mention that the last time Owl and the game designers spoke, their conversation didn’t exactly end on the best note…

Meanwhile, undercurrents of supernatural politics are running amok in Tokyo, dragging Owl and her friends into a deadly game of wits with an opponent who calls himself the Electric Samurai. The cost of losing? All-out civil war between two powerful supernatural factions.

ALSO, on the Kristi Charish front, she whispered into my ear that the Kincaid Strange series will get an addition sometime early next year…like maybe January-ish.  It’ll be called  Lipstick VooDoo and  I’m so excited!  If you haven’t read The VooDoo Killings, please get to it.  It’s fabtastic!  Here’s our review for The VooDoo Killings in case you want to do a little research.

Voodoo KillingsTitle:  The VooDoo Killings
Author:  Kristi Charish
Series: Kincaid Strange
Description:  For starters, she’s only 27. Then there’s the fact that she lives in rain-soaked Seattle, which is not exactly Haiti. And she’s broke. With raising zombies outlawed throughout the continental USA, Kincaid has to eke out a living running seances for university students with more money than brains who are desperate for guitar lessons with the ghost of a Seattle grunge rocker–who happens to be Kincaid’s on-again, off-again roommate.

Then a stray zombie turns up outside her neighbourhood bar: Cameron Wight, an up-and-coming visual artist with no recollection of how he died or who raised him. Not only is it dangerous for Kincaid to be caught with an unauthorized zombie, she soon realizes he’s tied to a spate of murders: someone is targeting the zombies and voodoo practitioners in Seattle’s infamous Underground City, a paranormal hub. When the police refuse to investigate, the City’s oldest and foremost zombie asks Kincaid to help. Raising ghosts and zombies is one thing, but finding a murderer? She’s broke, but she’s not stupid.

And then she becomes the target…As the saying goes, when it rains it pours, especially in Seattle.

One last thing on my list is a snippet from Ruins & Revenge by Lisa ShearinRuins & Revenge is the sequel to Treasure & Treason.  I treasure-and-treasoncan’t give you a cover or a book description because this little tidbit is that fresh.  Lisa Shearin is still writing this book, but she is letting us peek into her hard drive and steal a glance at the book that will release May 2, 2017.

I held up a hand, signaling everyone to stop.

Jash looked at me like I’d lost my mind.

I wasn’t sure he was wrong. But I was sure we were dead if we made any sudden moves.

“How much farther?” I asked Agata, keeping my voice low and calm.  

Her eyes darted from side to side. I knew what she was seeing. The beasts were stalking us, staying mostly out of sight, giving us occasional glimpses to build our terror to the point where we’d make a break for it.

All part of the game. A game I was determined not to play.

Agata exhaled slowly, calming herself. “On the other side of the cavern.” She indicated direction with the slightest nod of her head—and a sardonic snort. “Wherever that is.”

Okay, that wasn’t what I wanted to hear.

“What’s your plan?” she asked.

“Get out of this alive.”

She almost smiled. “That’s a goal, not a plan. Try again.

Ooooooo! It makes me giddy to share this ‘fresh out of the author brain’ little snippet.

Follow One Book Two via:

 Bloglovin_small Facebook_small Twitter_small googleplus_small Pinterest_small NetworkdBlog_small Feedly_small

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Advertisements

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on February 5, 2017, in Blog Memes, Book Chat, Book Hunt, Nervous Nellie. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: