Pray for Dawn by Jocelynn Drake

One of many things Jocelynn Drake is good at is the ability to leave you craving more. Pray for Dawn is no exception to this and with every page, I find myself rooting for Mira and her ragtag group of supernatural creatures as they face down their worst enemies – and each other.

Pray for Dawn by Jocelynn DrakeTitlePray for Dawn
AuthorJocelynn Drake
Series: Dark Days #4
Publish Date:  June 22, 2010 Harper Voyager
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionPray for salvation . . .

Pray for daylight . . .

Murder has pulled Mira out of the shadows and back into the living world . . .

As the fire-wielding enforcer of the nightwalker coven wrestles with the mind-destroying ghosts of her dark past, the slaying of a senator’s daughter in Savannah threatens to expose her kind to the brilliant light of day. The dawn of chaos has come. The naturi have broken free of their eternal prison to feed on the defenseless and unbelieving of an unprepared Earth.

Mira and Danaus–vampire and vampire slayer–must unite to prevent the annihilation of their separate races. But for Danaus the challenge is intensified, for he must also fight the bori who covets his soul. And Mira, the nightwalker he must protect–whose power is the Earth’s last hope–is rapidly going insane.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

I think Drake loves to torture us as we eagerly await the time when Danaus and Mira finally have sex. She’s hinted at the idea many times, and although she’s given us several romantic scenes with other characters, I’m really begging for these two to shack up at last. There are so many moments that I think, “oh…oh, I bet they’re gonna do it,” and then I just get my hopes up. This is the most complicated relationship I’ve ever rooted for, I swear. But since I know Danaus becomes her consort, it implies some sexy times upcoming. I really enjoy this kind of romance blended in with the fantasy genre.

Also, I love how much Danaus gets beat up. Man, the author really beats the shit out of this guy. I feel like even though Mira gets beat up a lot, she takes more emotional damage than Danaus, so it puts her in this weird category in my head that’s different from Danaus getting stabbed multiple times and shot with poison arrows. Being “slightly” human has its disadvantages.

But being slightly human also delivers you some fun times. We finally get to see more into what’s happening inside Danaus’s head and are introduced to Gaizka. I’m not sure how you would pronounce that – but I love how he appears as an angel. I’ve always thought it was cool that the author has fairies being evil but now you have a bit of a twist as the bori enter the picture and more angels, demons, and gods will enter the picture. It makes me very excited how lush and full this world is.

badge5v5The only thing I’d have to say negatively about this book was my mixed thoughts on the ending. It wasn’t so much that bad things happened (with Lily, Tristan, LaVina, etc.) but I kind of had to reread the action scene a few times to completely understand what was going on. There was a lot to take in and I was losing track of who killed who and what was happening sometimes. But I loved the cliffhanger.

This gets another five stars from me.

Our reviews in this series…

Links will become active as each review is published.

Other recommendations…

If you like Jocelynn Drake, you might like Jeaniene Frost, Kim Harrison, and Vicki Pettersson (and vice versa).

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on February 16, 2017, in 5-Great, Kat Mandu, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

