The Altar Girl by Orest Stelmach

This prequel is a wonderful introduction to the Nadia Tesla series.

alter-girlTitleThe Altar Girl
AuthorOrest Stelmach
SeriesNadia Tesla, Book 0.5
Publish Date: May 1, 2015
Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionThe daughter of uncompromising Ukrainian immigrants, Nadia was raised to respect guts, grit, and tradition. When the events around the seemingly accidental death of her estranged godfather don’t add up, Nadia is determined to discover the truth—even if she attracts the attention of dangerous men intent on finding out what she knows through any means possible.

Her investigation leads her to her hometown and to the people least likely to welcome her back: her family.

In this thrilling prequel to the Nadia Tesla series, Nadia must try to solve the mystery surrounding her godfather’s death—and his life. The answers to her questions are buried with the secrets of her youth and in post–World War II refugee camps. What Nadia learns will change her life forever.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Agent_Annie_100Agent Annie says…

This is the first of the series that I have read. I feel it worked well to read it before any of the others. There are 3 more in the series, which I plan on reading.

The author created characters I could empathize with and really got to their emotional status with regard to their family relationships. I like the main character very much. She is defined by her 1st generation Ukrainian up-bringing but also has that New York City girl grit, too. When a person grows up in a dysfunctional family, those characteristics don’t go away when you are an adult. Orest Stelmach created a very believable heroine.

badge5v5I was intrigued by the historical information about the displaced persons that were basically refugees that fled Russia and ended up in Western Europe at the end of the war but none of the Allied countries wanted to take them in. This was a real eye-opener for me since so much of WWII history is focused on the treatment of the Jews or the starvation of the Russian Army. I particularly liked the detail about the PLAST that Nadia had to undergo as a child in order to be truly accepted into her community.

I also thought the mystery was particularly good and kept me guessing as to what would happen next.

I give this book 5 stars. It’s a great mystery and is an excellent example of the genre.

About Agent Annie

I am a former Independent bookstore owner that created a 30 books in 30 minutes presentation for book clubs, libraries and avid reader groups. I specialize in short reviews that focus on plot, theme and discussion topics. I primarily read mystery/thriller, who-done-its and sci-fi/fantasy. I love stories in any format and will listen to an audio book as quickly as I would read a paper or digital version. I prefer books that make you think, don't have a predictable ending and tend to have some aspect that is outside the current norm. I tend to enjoy series once I am hooked on the main characters and the world and am very loyal. Some of the books I've enjoyed in the past are: Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear, The Dragon Riders of Pern by Anne & Todd McCaffrey and The Sherlockian Graham Moore. I will also read ANYTHING by Stephen King. As a matter of fact, I wrote a graduate level paper on the leadership styles in The Stand. I will accept review requests.

Posted on February 27, 2017, in 5-Great, Agent Annie, Mystery, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

