Burn the Night by Jocelynn Drake

Burn The Night marks the final book in the Dark Days series – which means it’s time for the final battle between all supernatural creatures versus the Naturi – fairies who seek to return to earth with an everlasting vengeance.

Burn The NightTitle:  Burn The Night
Author:  Jocelynn Drake
SeriesDark Days Book 06
Publish Date:  June 28, 2011 Harper Voyager
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionThe Great Awakening approaches . . .

After eons in exile, the naturi have broken their chains and now roam the Earth bent on revenge. It is the sworn duty of Mira, the Fire Starter, to protect the nightwalker race—though even she may be powerless to withstand the horrific onslaught. As Mira and her brave lover, the vampire slayer Danaus, stand ready to do battle, thousands of winged shapeshifters darken the skies. The war of ultimate extermination has begun, and the battleground is Mira’s home turf.

The humans don’t yet recognize the doom descending upon them. And the nightwalkers will surely perish unless they unite with outcast naturi who claim to want peace. But these unexpected “allies” are the same demons who have long worked for Mira’s destruction—and in these darkest of days, the lines between friend and foe will blur treacherously before the bloody end of all things.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat_Mandu_100Kat Mandu says…

** spoiler alert ** I was not expecting the happy ending. This is the first book in the series I haven’t read more than once, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I actually wish I could rate this a 4.5 because I’ve rated all the others five, but there were just…very many things I was still left wondering about.

I loved the different perspectives. For the first time, we get to hear from a Naturi lead and Mira both. Nyx was an interesting character to choose, but she also made the most sense (besides choosing Rowe). Nyx and Mira are kind of mirror characters. Both distinctly feared among their kind, Nyx for being the “Dark One” and Mira for being the Fire-Starter. Both were destined to fight Aurora. I was honestly thinking that Mira would get her shot at the Queen herself, but she gets comeuppance when it comes to finally ridding herself of Nick, her “creator.”

Oh and yes, Naturi sex. I love the romance scenes. They’re so elegant and wonderful to read. Nyx and Rowe had their romantic little scene in the woods and of course, Mira and Danaus wipe the floor with their rough post-battle moment. It’s hard for me to picture Rowe being so romantic after everything I’ve read about him, but hey, even the bad guys get the girl.

Maybe I was hoping that Rowe would still screw everybody over near the end. He’s the lion in the sheep’s pasture and I was waiting for him to snap. I even had my doubts about Nyx. But they were really there to help and help they did, as the evil Naturi reign was forced to a halt and the queen’s reign of terror prevented forever.

Lots of interesting new developments for the last book too, though some of my questions went unanswered and other new plot lines made me wonder if she had other plans for the series. 1) Ryan, a two-sided warlock you meet in the series, becoming a vampire, as an example. 2) I also figured Mira would go to Budapest after the destruction of Savannah to bring things full circle in the investigation of Michael’s death. I was hoping to hear what had really happened to Micheal’s body since it was such a key point in a few of the books. But nothing there. 3) And poor Barrett is left to defend his small pack.

At least some people survived. Jabrari didn’t. Imagine that. Knew she’d kill the Ancient eventually. Mira tends to get her revenge in all meanings of the word, even if it took the whole series for her to do it.

Overall, this is a fantastic series for urban fantasy readers. I loved her writing style, although I noticed the silky descriptions kind of faded after the first few books. I recommend this to fans of sexy vampires, great plotlines, and beautiful writing.

Our reviews in this series…

Links will become active as each review is published.

Other recommendations…

If you like Jocelynn Drake, you might like Jeaniene Frost, Kim Harrison, and Vicki Pettersson (and vice versa).

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on March 2, 2017, in 4-Good, Kat Mandu, Review, Urban Fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love this series! I wish I had the time to reread it with you. I’ll have to put it on my list of audios to revisit! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

