Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

I was really excited to read this since I enjoyed The Girl from the Well duology so well. There are some of the elements that I loved about Girl from the Well that are present in this novel as well: beautiful descriptions, gorgeous settings, and interesting characters. But somewhere it fell flat for me.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

TitleThe Bone Witch
AuthorRin Chupeco
SeriesThe Bone Witch, Book 01
Publish Date: March 7, 2017 by Sourcebooks Fire
Genre: Dark Fantasy
Source: NetGalley

Publisher’s DescriptionA Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Young Adult Book of Spring 2017!

In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price…

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there’s anything I’ve learned from him in the years since, it’s that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha—one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles…and make a powerful choice.

Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Name of the Wind in this brilliant new fantasy series by Rin Chupeco!

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Luna Lovebooks says…

Likes: I love the fact that this is a darkly beautiful world. There is betrayal and war (mentioned in passing for the most part) and, of course, death. But death is what makes this novel unique. How, you ask? The answer is in the very title of the book! Bone witches raise the dead, heal the sick, and defeat demonic-like creatures. The way they are described reminds me of magic wielding geisha! I love the idea of heartsglass as well. It is a wonderful way to detect emotions and a fun way to bring sayings into literal play – for example, if you give someone your heart they have power over you. I love the relationship between Tea and her brother, Fox.

Dislikes: As much potential as this story has, it fell flat for me, and I gradually lost interest until the last couple of chapters when it picked up again. I devoured the beginning for its explanation of this world and the people in it. I flipped excitedly through the pages towards as I wanted to know what would happen. But the middle was a montage of years of training – only not. It felt like no time at all had passed and Tea became an asha in the blink of an eye, still only 14. The two timelines interwoven added to my confusion until the very end. But not much happens in either plot. There is a love triangle, but it is mostly hinted at. I can’t decide if this is worse or not – either way, the story does not need a triangle.

I would love to rate this book higher, but because of my confusion and the loss of interest for the middle section of the book, I have to give this 3 bones.

Other recommendations…

Dreamfall by Amy Plum, Poison Kiss by Breeana Shields, Roar by Cora Carmack.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on March 14, 2017, in 3-Okay, Female, High Fantasy, Luna Lovebooks, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love this cover! I’ve looked at it several times, and I always have to stop and admire it. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

