Prisoner of Ice And Snow by Ruth Lauren

Valor is set on breaking her sister out of prison. But the only way to do that is to be arrested herself and tossed in with the worst of the criminals. Can she prove her sister’s innocence and save the reputation of her family before it’s too late?

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

Title: Prisoner of Ice And Snow
Author: Ruth Lauren
Series: Stand-Alone (as of now)
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Publish Date: April 4, 2017
Genre: Middle-Grade fantasy
Source: Provided by the publisher

Publisher’s Description: When Valor is arrested, she couldn’t be happier. Demidova’s prison for criminal children is exactly where she wants to be. Valor’s sister Sasha is already serving a life sentence for stealing from the royal family and Valor is going to help her escape . . . from the inside.

Never mind that no one has escaped in three hundred years. Valor has a plan and resources most could only dream about. But she didn’t count on having to outsmart both the guards and her fellow prisoners. If Valor’s plan is to succeed, she’ll need to make unlikely allies. And if the plan fails, she and Sasha could end up with fates worse than prison.


Luna Lovebooks says… 

Likes: Sisterly/familial love is a refreshing change from the many love triangles I normally read. It reminded me a lot of Frozen and Brave. I liked the plot quite a bit. There was a nice twist that I honestly didn’t see coming. I love Valor’s undying loyalty to her sister and the bond she forms with the children she meets in prison.

Dislikes: Everything I have seen or read about this novel says that it is a stand-alone, however the ending is super open. It makes me believe the adventure isn’t over yet. I feel that the world could have done with more information as the world building is sparse. There were some things that made me shake my head such as the ability of a 13-year-old to escape from an inescapable prison, and the fact that the prisoners weren’t watched more closely – especially one who tried to assassinate the prince.

This story is a cute read about sisterly love and the bonds of family. But because of the lack of world building, the open ending, and unrealistic feats, I give this novel 3 icicles.

Other recommendations…

For other Middle Grade reads check out the following:  The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan, The Lost Knight by Candy Atkins, The BFF Bucket List by Dee Romito.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on April 4, 2017, in 3-Okay, Female, High Fantasy, Luna Lovebooks, Middle Grade, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

