Superheroes in Prose, Vol. 1: Welcome to Prose by Sevan Paris

Doom and disaster strike for our young hero Gabe, who’s only trying to save the world and survive his freshman year of college at the same time.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

TitleSuperheroes in Prose, Vol. 1: Welcome to Prose
AuthorSevan Paris
SeriesSuperheroes in Prose, Book 01
Publish Date: January 19, 2012
Genre: YA Superhero Fantasy
Source: Provided by the author

Publisher’s DescriptionImagine you have the power to fly.

Pretty awesome, right? Imagine you have the power to levitate or crush something the size of a Winnebago. Equally awesome. Now … here’s the catch: having the power means you are bonded irreversibly to a smartass, sociopathic alien life form.

Not so awesome.

So, what would you do with all of that power? The way I figured it, I had one of two options: Option #1) Use it to commit crime or Option #2) Use it to fight crime. My name is Gabe Garrison and I chose Option #2.

This is my story …

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat Mandu says…

In this fantastic superhero book, readers meet Gabe – a teenager who’s got an alien “M” inside his head. M’s presence has given him out of this world abilities, so he decides to join the rank of superheroes within his hometown of Prose. But that’s when the trouble begins.

Told in four different stories, Volume 1 is action-packed as it follows Gabe and M as they take on rogue superheroes, dating, and plenty of notorious supervillains with manipulative plots of world-domination.

I was really drawn to this, especially since it reminded me a lot of the television show, Danny Phantom, a cartoon I was once obsessed with (and let’s face it, I still am). It has the same silly yet serious feels, while dealing with familiar superhero tropes: like harboring a secret identity from your mother, trying to balance real life and hero life, and the fine lines of morality AND mortality.

I really love Gabe and I’m also quite fond of Pink, one of the “registered” heroes who is capable of possessing almost everyone. And though he’s also kind of a dick, I find Casa’s character is integral to the plot and makes things a lot more interesting for Gabe, as he has a very dangerous agenda.

All in all this was fun and I’m glad I had the chance to read it! Five stars!

Other recommendations…

Recommended for fans of Jennifer Estep, Kirsten Brand, Lexi Dunne, and Sarah Raughley.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on April 10, 2017, in 5-Great, Contemporary Fantasy, Kat Mandu, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

