Perfect by Cecelia Ahern

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

TitlePerfect
AuthorCecelia Ahern
SeriesFlawed, Book 02
Publish Date: April 4, 2017 Feiwel & Friends
Genre: YA Distopia
Source: Provided by the publisher

Publisher’s DescriptionCelestine North lives in a society that demands perfection. After she was branded Flawed by a morality court, Celestine’s life has completely fractured–all her freedoms gone.

Since Judge Crevan has declared her the number one threat to the public, she has been a ghost, on the run with Carrick–the only person she can trust.

But Celestine has a secret–one that could bring the entire Flawed system crumbling to the ground. A secret that has already caused countless people to go missing.

Judge Crevan is gaining the upper hand, and time is running out for Celestine. With tensions building, Celestine must make a choice: save just herself or to risk her life to save all Flawed people.

And, most important of all, can she prove that to be human in itself is to be Flawed?

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Luna Lovebooks says…

I really enjoyed this duology. It is an interesting mix of dystopian novels and, in a way, a look at today’s society. It examines the idea that to err is human and runs wild. There were a few twists that I didn’t see coming and some that were obvious (at least to me). The ending was the uplifting “wow” that I was hoping for, and I may or may not have teared up. While the ending did wow me, I also felt it was a little too neat. There are a few unanswered questions, like what will become of the Guild, but for the most part, events just happened to fall into place.

Celestine’s character really grew. She went from believing that she was perfect to realizing that to be human is to be flawed, often in more ways than one. I also respect her for realizing that even if her verdict was overturned then she could never be the person she was before. You know standing up for a whole group of people may have contributed to my respect just a little. 😉

Carrick was my absolute favorite and I am glad Celestine ended up with him. The whole thing where Art came back into her life and had her brain all in a fuzz wasn’t necessary to me. I do understand the feelings were still there, but it just wasn’t necessary.

This was an enjoyable read and it has earned its place – among many of my review books – on my shelf. I give it 4 strawberries.

Our reviews in this series…

Other recommendations…

Brave New Girl by Rachel Vincent, the Everlife series by Gena Showalter, and The Last Harvest by Kim Liggett.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on April 12, 2017, in 4-Good, Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic, Luna Lovebooks, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

