Endure by Sara B. Larson

In this third and final installment to the Defy trilogy, Alexa and Damian are engaged to be wed – but first they’ve got a country to save and lots of bad guys to defeat.

TitleEndure
AuthorSara B. Larson
SeriesDefy, Book 03
Publish Date: December 29, 2015 by Scholastic
Genre: YA High Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionAt last, Alexa and King Damian are engaged to be married. But their lives are far from safe. The kingdom of Antion is under siege, and Rylan is a prisoner of the enemy. Even worse, Alexa remains at the mercy of the evil Dansiian Rafe, who controls her mind and can force Alexa to kill or harm Damian at any moment. Despite this, Alexa is determined to rescue Rylan, which soon leads her far from Damian and deep into enemy territory.

When she arrives, what awaits her is deadlier than anything she could have ever imagined: an army of black sorcerers and a horrifying plot to destroy the world as Alexa knows it. Will she be able to gather the strength to free herself, protect the love of her life, and save the land? Will there ever be true peace?

Acclaimed author Sara B. Larson has woven a stunning, romantic, and evocative finale to the Defy trilogy that is sure to leave readers breathless until the very last page.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


Kat Mandu says…

This book is particularly action-packed and I really loved it. Characters are getting back into their own skins and finally taking charge of the situations, even when they seem hopeless. For the first time since they were “kidnapped” by the Blevonese, Alexa and Damian must separate. Damian will lead his Antion people to safety and Alexa is bound to rescue Rylan.

Things naturally don’t go according to plan, but that’s okay because it provides some really cool fight scenes. I really love the beginning when Manu comes in and creates that magical smoke that causes a lot of people to hallucinate. Plus, any time there’s magic, it’s always cool, so there’s quite a few fight scenes that really captured my attention.

I do love that Alexa is vulnerable to Rafe’s mind control and so is Rylan. It makes for an interesting final battle between the two of them, Damian, and Rafe.

I don’t have many rants about this book – it made me happier than the first two, though I was sad to see quite a few characters go that I’d grown fond of. But that’s the trouble with high fantasy, haha! Everyone you like DIES.

Anyway, this is a great trilogy. Full of excitement and great political, romantic, and magical plot lines.

Our reviews in this series…

Links will become active as reviews are posted.

Other recommendations…

Recommended for fans of Kiersten White, Sophie Jordan, and Tamora Pierce.

Save

Save

Save

Advertisements

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on April 21, 2017, in 4-Good, High Fantasy, Kat Mandu, Review, Young Adult and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: