Calling on Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede

Welcome to Saturday Shorts, in which we review shorter works such as short stories, novellas, middle-grade books, and graphic novels. Today I’m back with the third review for the Enchanted Forest Chronicles, a series about a feisty princess who’s anything but ordinary.

TitleCalling on Dragons 
Author: Patricia C. Wrede
Series: The Enchanted Forest Chronicles
Publish Date: March 1, 2003
Genre: MG Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description:
Those wicked wizards are back–and they’ve become very smart. (Sort of.) They intend to take over the Enchanted Forest once and for all . . . unless Cimorene finds a way to stop them. And some people think being queen is easy.

 


Kat Mandu says…

This is the book three of four in the Enchanted Forest Chronicles and sometimes I find it strange that the author didn’t write the whole series for children. Again, this has a nice little innocent touch to it, and I’m actually surprised that this book turn a turn from its prequel and had more of a lighter plot, more child-like and less complicated. The first two books seemed to have more of an edge and less convenient holes to fall into.

That being said, I loved it; each book has its own way of leading up to the finale and is narrated by different characters. And although I loved the point of views of both Mendenbar, the King of the Enchanted Forest, and Morwen, a sassy witch with lots of cats and a friend to most of the lead characters, I rather wish Cimorene would get her turn in the spotlight again. The first one continues to be my favorite in the series and I think it’s because I’m so drawn to her character.

Again, this book plays with a lot of different fairy tale ideas and songs, from the princess and the pea, to Old MacDonald, to the retelling of Rapunzel. I love books that contain more than one retelling (after all, I’m a fan of all princesses, not just some) and that it does it in a simple way that avoids distracting from the real story.

I wasn’t sure what to think about some of the character conversations in this. The cats were humorous, providing sarcasm in good moments. However, there’s a whole scene where the crew burst into this guy’s house (okay, technically it’s a tower, but he lives there, so) and blame him for not being hospitable…which I find incredibly weird because no one would do that in real life (or at least I’d hope not). But like I said, this book has its innocent kicks and the characters tend to be very headstrong anyway.

Though it’s my least favorite in the series, I still enjoyed it a lot and you will too!

Our reviews in this series…

Other recommendations…

…you might try Susan Fletcher, Tamora Pierce, or Diane Duane.

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on April 22, 2017, in 3-Okay, Female, High Fantasy, Kat Mandu, Middle Grade, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

