It’s been over a year since I posted my last review. It boggles my mind that time moves that fast. I originally stepped back for a couple of months as I changed jobs and cities. But one change led to another and life continued to throw its little surprises at me. All of the sudden, it has been a year. I know that I just have to get back on this horse because if I wait for life to slow down, I will be in my early 90’s before I post my next review. So here I am.
Lucyfer and Izzy have changed a lot in the last year. Lucyfer is still slightly dark and demented but I think Izzy is giving her a run for her money. In a year, Izzy has transformed from her sad, malnourished kitten form to Izzy the hulk cat. I have no documentation about the breed of cat that Izzy may be because she was found starving in a bean field, but now we are pretty sure she is at least 50% Maine Coon which translates to big. We have our first yearly check-up with our new vet on Wednesday and I am interested in her reaction to Izzy’s growth spurt. I am a little afraid she will tell me that Izzy is actually part Bobcat.
Since I didn’t want my first post to be all about me and my 2 minions, I thought I would share a little of what I have read in the last year. I hit a milestone with my 1000th book purchased on my Kindle. It was a little mind-blowing for me to think that I have enough books on my Kindle to keep me reading for a decade.

 

I have finished the first two books in Mira Grant’s Feed series and they are incredible. I listened to the Audible audiobooks and would highly recommend them. I will write a complete review on the series once I finish the third book.

 

 

 

Amanda Steven’s The Sinner, the fifth book in the Graveyard Queen series, was a very prominent read for me in the last year. I just finished the final book in that series and a review will be published shortly.

Jill Shalvis began her Heartbreaker Bay series much to my delight, and I am look forward to the Trouble with Mistletoe being made into a TV movie for the 2017 Holiday Season. I am also completely caught up with Bella Andre’s The Sullivans series. If you are a reader looking for a new series to invest your time, The Sullivians will not disappoint. It may be a little daunting to look at the number of books but I promise that it will be worth it.
My biggest and most pleasant surprise came from the Calendar Girl series by Audrey Carlan. Just when you think you have a series pegged, it surprises you by delivering rich, deep characters painted by superb writing. The twists in this story are unexpected and it shows that you can’t judge a book by its genre.
So that is my year in a nutshell. I hope that reviews will be following this post shortly and if I fall off the earth every once in a while know that I will show up again soon.

About Ruby Lee

I have always loved reading because it is my escape, and I will read almost anything. Lately, I have been getting into nonfiction, which surprised the heck out of me. I am also into many types of romance, horror, and sci-fi with an occasional mystery or two. I promise that I will keep you on your toes because my reading preferences are all over the map. I feel I’m a tough reviewer. I rarely give five stars on any story because a five-star would have to be a book combination of The Stand meets Charlotte’s Web which in turn marries Dante’s Inferno and has an affair with Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think that if a story travels with you for the rest of your life, it should have a special distinction to set it apart. Follow me on twitter @rubylee5151 or send me an email at RubyLee5151@gmail.com.

Posted on May 8, 2017, in Review. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

