The Storm Bringer by Ken Lange

The adventure continues and the pieces of the puzzle are starting to fall into place.

Title: Rise of the Storm Bringer
Author: Ken Lange
Series: Warden Global #2
Publish Date: April 4, 2017
Genre: Science Fiction
Source: Reviewer purchased

Publisher’s DescriptionFor most people, a visit from their former in-laws is unpleasant at most. If only I were that lucky.

Mine have unexpectedly dropped by, leaving a couple of bodies in little bits and a message in blood as their way of saying hi.

Which is just great. Now I can add one more group to the growing list of nut-bags who want to tuck me in for a dirt nap. Simply put, if the in-laws don’t get me, a dead woman, the Loki, or any one of a legion of mythological beasties just might.

To top it off, I’ve learned that there’s a cosmic war that’s been raging since the dawn of creation, and somehow, I’ve found myself at the very center of it all. I know it’s gonna be a hell of a day when death might be the least of my problems.

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel. In other words…spoilers.  *BEWARE*


Nervous Nellie says…

The only thing that matters is to do the best you can in the moment and realize that no one has all the answers.

This science fiction/urban fantasy/action adventure story takes place in NoLA,  There is death and dismemberment and often blood, gore and goo. The protagonist often gets the crap beaten out of him AND he’s almost (I said ALMOST) as clueless about what is happening to him than us readers.  Viktor is a smart ass and that’s what draws me to a good character.  The story is written like he’s telling the story to you personally. He’s got depth to him that comes from a lot of experience tending to the things that most don’t care to deal with.  Anyway, the story does have twists and turns that end up leading down a dark alley not knowing if a monster will pop out or not.  Usually does, though.  Just warnin’ ya.

There is a lot of name dropping in this book.  Brush up on your Greek and Norse mythology because it will help with the characters and where they fit into the whole scheme of things.  Actually, scratch that. You really don’t have to know the mythology, just know the individuals are important and it’ll be fine.  I happen to like to track down the mythology because I think knowing where they all came from makes the reading more fun.

There are several characters that are mentioned from book 1 as well as a couple from Accession of the Stone Born – another series from the same author.  In my opinion, the mention of other characters made my reading more like a family reunion.  I didn’t actually get to see the characters, but the mentioning made it fun for me.

It’s important, I think, to mention that it would be a good idea to start with the first book in the series, The Wanderer Awakens, because this is a series that would be hard to follow if it wasn’t started from page 1.

If you like a white hat that doesn’t really look at himself that way, with a team of good people that look out for the unknowing humans and supernatural, mythological and ancient people thrown in as well as a science fiction basis, this is a good series to begin.  Normally, I’m not one for science fiction, but I liked it.  It’s a challenging read.  It kept my brain engaged and every page there was a scene that would suck me in as quickly as the one the page before did.

Someone once said that this author makes writing look easy.  I really do believe it.  It’s complicated, but yet simple in the end.  It’s worth the time and energy.  I rate it a 5.

Our reviews in this series…

 

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on May 15, 2017, in 5-Great, Male, Nervous Nellie, Review, Sci-Fi. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

