Owl and the Electric Samurai by Kristi Charish

Owl is back.  Captain was taken, can she get him back? She’s wanted (IAA), she’s working for people she doesn’t want to work (Naga and Dragon) for and she’s being hunted by mercenaries.  Another day in the life.  Of course it couldn’t be simple – all supernatural factions seem to have a hand in the pie.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

Title:  Owl and the Electric Samurai
Author: Kristi Charish
Series: The Adventures of Owl #3
Narrator:  Christy Romano
Released:  May 8, 2017
Description:  The third exciting novel starring the unforgettable antiquities thief Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. From the pen of rising urban fantasy star Kristi Charish (Owl and the Japanese Circus) and for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

The International Archaeology Association (IAA) is responsible for keeping all things supernatural under wraps. They’re also responsible for ruining the promising archaeology career of Alix Hiboux, better known as Owl.

Needless to say, Owl’s still a little sore about that.

Just to keep Owl’s life lively, the IAA has opened a bounty on the two designers of World Quest, the online RPG that is much, much more than it seems. Owl needs to locate the notorious gaming duo before the other mercenaries do. But finding the gamers won’t be easy since every clue points to them hiding out in the legendary lost city of Shangri-La. Not to mention that the last time Owl and the game designers spoke, their conversation didn’t exactly end on the best note…

Meanwhile, undercurrents of supernatural politics are running amok in Tokyo, dragging Owl and her friends into a deadly game of wits with an opponent who calls himself the Electric Samurai. The cost of losing? All-out civil war between two powerful supernatural factions

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel. In other words…spoilers.  *BEWARE*


Nervous Nellie says…

I listened to this book in audio as well as read print.  The narrator for the audio does a fantastic job.  She distinguishes voices and the inflection is spot on.

This is an urban fantasy that has plenty of suspense, mystery and adventure.  No sex though there is a relationship between Owl and Ryan.  No cats were hurt in the reading or writing of this book.  There are some parts that are somewhat graphic with dismemberment.  There are Elves, Vampires, Zombies, Naga, Dragon and assorted other supernaturals involved.

Things are kind of hairy again with Owl.  It seems like she can never relax.  She has to find the video game masters because she’s afraid that if IAA get hold of them, they’ll be toast.  She has to find the Electric Samurai suit or she is toast.  Her elven friend may or may not be trusted.  Ryan acts weird – besides being an incubus.  Captain was taken, but he’s returned with his tail in a bunch, but otherwise unharmed.

I feel defensive of Owl through the book because it feels like Ryan isn’t always on her side.  Granted, she is a thief, but still.  Also, granted that Owl is not always the most mature and is heavily motivated by money and treasure.  I also feel like she’s often put between a rock and a hard place.  Her skills are used and somewhat abused, as is Owl herself.  She is one smart cookie and a tough one at that.

I can tell you that I love this series.  I usually don’t take to anti-heroes or “black hats” and that is what I’d categorize Owl as.  She is a thief and steals artifacts for other beings to use for their benefit, BUT if it is too dangerous, Owl will be sure it doesn’t fall into the wrong hands.

The writing is smooth and the action is fast.  It’s an easy read – I didn’t have to struggle to figure out motivations or hidden clues.  I could relax and take the ride without fear of missing any symbolic references or clues.

 

Advertisements

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on May 23, 2017, in Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Is this series anything like Jenn Stark’s Wilde series? Sara her main character is also a antiquities hunter and so much more. I love Jenn’s books and if this series is anything like that i would love to read them.

    Like

    • Nervous Nell Justice

      Actually, it is except Owl is a thief with no greater reason to steal than to give to her dragon employer. It’s got a more academic bad guy lean than a bias between connecteds and humans. I enjoy this series a lot. Especially because it’s got a cat character!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: