Forbidden Promises Review by Katee Robert

Some lines should never be crossed . . . not even for love.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

Title: Forbidden Promises
Author: Katee Robert
Series: The O’Malleys 
Publish Date: May 30, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Source: Provided by Barclay Publicity and Net Galley

Publisher’s Description:

Sloan O’Malley just left her entire world behind-her family, her wealth, and even her real name. For the first time in her life, she’s free. She can live the “normal” life she’s always wanted. A life without fear. But there’s nothing safe about her intensely sexy next-door neighbor.

Jude MacNamara has no room for innocence in his life. Only revenge. Still, he’s never been able to walk away from the forbidden, and Sloan–who is every inch of pure, mouthwatering temptation–has forbidden written all over her. Only after it’s way too late does he discover the real danger: claiming Sloan as his puts a target on her back. To protect her, Jude is willing risk everything . . . and to hell with the consequences.


Luna Lovebooks says…

 

Likes: I must admit books like this are my guilty pleasure. Usually big alpha males are a turn off for me. But Jude, while being alpha, was more concerned about Sloan and her pleasure and safety. That was refreshing. He let her find her feet and the strength she had buried deep down. I like that even though it’s part of a series you don’t have to read the other books to know what is going on. The characters from the other novels make appearances but aren’t essential. The sex scenes were tasteful and red hot in my opinion.

 

Dislikes: I was trying to figure out what the Russian mob boss’s fascination with Sloan’s younger sister had to do with the overall story. Unless that will be the set up for a future novel in the series, it seemed unnecessary, even if it did all tie together in the end. There were a few instances that were very unbelievable to me as well. For instance having both a condom break and the plan b pill fail, while possible, is highly unlikely and seemed a little far-fetched to me.

 

This is a good book to relax in a hot bath with and have a glass of wine and some candles going for some me time but it’s not something I would read every day. I give it three bullets. 

Other recommendations…

I’d read the rest of the O’Malley series by Katee Robert,  Preston’s Honor by Mia Sheridan, The Wing Man by Natasha Anders.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on June 8, 2017, in 3-Okay, Contemporary Fiction, Female, Luna Lovebooks, Review, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

