Chief by Kris Michaels

Quiet, handsome, deadly.  That’s our Chief.  Come along on an undercover op that revolves around a sex trade ring and a sexy Russian that Chief can’t get enough of.

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

TitleChief
AuthorKris Michaels
SeriesThe Kings of Guardian #7
Publish Date: May 30, 2017
Genre: Military/Security Alpha Romance
Source: Recieved for honest review

Publisher’s Description:

Cloaked in the identity of David Xavier, a billionaire player in multiple world theaters, Mike White Cloud worked to enter the Russian Mafia’s lair, by stalking a shadowy creature named “The Concierge.” The Russian woman brokered young innocents into slavery, and Mike meant to destroy her and the organization she worked for. He should have despised her for the atrocious crimes she facilitated, but too often love and hate are the flip sides of the same coin, and what Mike felt for Taty was not hate. It didn’t matter. He’d destroy the Bravata and all its associates–even if it meant part of his soul sat in prison for the rest of her life.

Driven by heartbreak, Tatyana Petrov joined the elite British M16 unit, and for eight years, wormed her way into the trust of the Bravata as she strove to identify the human filth selling those innocents to billionaires like David Xavier. She’d found it easy to loathe the wealthy men who bought her “toys”–until David. For reasons that she wouldn’t acknowledge, she wanted to protect this one man from the retribution rapidly approaching.

Neither knew the other’s true mission but even as mortal adversaries, they’d each given the other a part of their soul, and now only devastation and sorrow waited.

Nervous Nellie’s nervousness necessitates knowledge of the novel. In other words…spoilers.  *BEWARE*


 

Nervous Nellie says..

This is a military alpha romance bordering on erotica romance with violence, kidnapping and sex slave trade flavor.  Both hero and heroine are good guys trying to stop the slave trade, so no worries there.  The book could be read as a stand alone if push come to shove, but it’s so much better with all the other books leading up to this point.  There isn’t a cliffhanger per se…but the ending did give me a hook to tune in to the next in the series.

I love Kris Michael’s work.  The whole series up to this point is fantastic.  I enjoy romances that involve a whole family like this one.  I also like the reaccuring characters so it feels like I’m in the middle of all the action.

This book wasn’t as good as some of the others, however, it was still very good.  I know everyone has their favorites and I tend to compare all the books in the series to the one I enjoyed the most.  With that being said, Chief was a good story.  The reason it doesn’t live up to my fave is probably the lack of emotion during the story I felt.  Maybe it was the story arc of sex slave trade or Tatyana herself, I don’t know.  That’s not to say I didn’t need tissues at the end, because I did.  I know it’s hard to put a whole year of preparation for a secret op into the book, but I felt the backstory was a little light.  That’s just my opinion, though.

Throughout the book, there was peeks into Tatyana and her life before, so that was good.  I have to be sure that the woman was good enough for Chief (not that I could do anything about it, of course).  I mentioned that I needed tissues at the end.  It wasn’t sad, so don’t freak out.  Sometimes the ends of these books tend to spark an emotional release from the real world’s events – that’s one reason why I read them.

I really did like this book and I can’t wait for the next one.  I know I’ll be sad when all the family is hooked up and the series ends, but Kris Michaels is one of those writers that I know has several good stories percolating in her brain, so it’ll be ok.

Our reviews in this series…

 

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on June 13, 2017, in 4-Good, Nervous Nellie, Review, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

