Talking Books with Nell part 1

 

When I’m not reading, I’m looking for books to read.  Or talking about books. That’s just one addiction the human population has out of millions.  Books make my world a better place for many reasons.

Genre is a word that means:

a category of artistic, musical, or literary composition characterized by a particular style, form, or content-Merriam Webster Dictionary

There are a ton and a half of genres out there that no one can easily catagorize.  There are definitely folks that try to catagorize them all, but just like everyone’s brain – no one thinks exactly the same as someone else.  That’s what makes reading fun.

One of the most massive genres out there in the world is that called Romance.  Some folks argue that for the story to be a “true” romance it has to end with the featured couple falling in love.  Some folks will argue that a romance is strictly smutty trash.  I think that might be a little narrow minded. I think that there are so many divisions to the Romance genre, a person can’t just throw all books with romance in them into one category and be done with it.  That’s unfair.  The Romance genre is about as individual as the people who read them.

I started my reading career with books that had words.  Anything.  I’d read it.  I had very few books so what I did have, I read over and over and over again.  Just thinking about how the options of books have changed in the last 40 years is enough to make me goggle.  That’s a subject for later on. The books I got hooked on when I could actually get a new book was a romance.  They were the easiest to find in a second hand store or a library. I tried fantasy, but even back then that genre was limited.

Over the years I developed the ability to be choosy about what romance I waned to read.  That being said, the specifications for me to read a romance depends on what is going on at the time.  Am I stretched to a near breaking point and I need fantasy? Go toward Paranormal or Science Fiction.  Am I in need of a relaxing fluffy book? Go toward boilerplate romance. Am I looking for a strong male alpha that gets my motor running?  Usually even the strong women enjoy being cherished. Am I looking for a suspense?  Suspense alone has sub-genres that one must explore before committing.   Also, do I want to read about a certain time frame? There is regency, contemporary, old west, medieval, time travel and more.  Do I want the hero/heroine to be associated with the military? medical? paranormal? cowboys? billionaires?    There are plenty of other examples of what a person could chose from -those listed aren’t the only ones.

When I get tired or stressed, I usually choose a series romance.  It’s nice, safe and I know how it will end.  I enjoy reading the series when all the characters in the series appear over and over.  It’s like a big “Cheers” style get together.  The characters can always depend on the others and they are all willing to do anything for the other people in their series.  It’s all fantasy, I know, but it helps.

There are a couple of series examples I can share with you.  The Virgin River series by Robin Carr.  The whole story takes place in one small town and everyone knows your name.  The Kings of Guardian series by Kris Michaels.  This series is about a security company with international connections that save people. For a walk on the paranormal side there is Tina Folsom‘s Scanguard Vampire series, D.B. Reynolds Vampires in America series or Darynda Jones Charley Davidson series.

That’s where the Happily Ever After comes into play.  Those are the endings that make my world go around.

Tune in next week for more “Talking Books with Nell”.

 

 

Follow One Book Two via:

 Bloglovin_small Facebook_small Twitter_small googleplus_small Pinterest_small NetworkdBlog_small Feedly_small

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on June 15, 2017, in Blog Memes, Book Chat, Book Hunt, Nervous Nellie. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Kris Michaels

    Robyn Carr is one of my altimeter favorites! To be mentioned in the same article is an honor. Thank you Nell, bucket list item achieved!

    Like

  2. Kris Michaels

    Ahh…fast fingers and a puppy who made me hit post…that comment should read all time favorites! SMH!

    Like

Leave a Reply

