Talking Books with Nell part 3

 

Welcome to another Talking Books with Nell.  This week I’d like to talk about some other genres.

When I first started reading, I didn’t know what genre I liked.  I tried classical fiction, historical/biographical non fiction, fantasy, true crime non fiction, romance (any kind) and thrillers. I tried science fiction. I tried mystery. I tried horror and I tried chick lit.  Over the years I figured out that I like most of those genres but my favorite is urban fantasy.

Classical Fiction is classified as great works of literature which have lasted through the ages.  Here is a list of classics put together by Modern Library.  Some folks may look down on me when I say this, but I really hated reading classics.  I read Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  Hated it.  I read The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck.  Hated it.  I read Call of the Wild by Jack London.  It was okay but I wouldn’t go out of my way to read it again.  Why didn’t I like them?  I’ll tell you why.  They each have heartache, tragedy and sorrow.  Now, I’m sure I’m dwelling on the negatives, but to me, reading should be fun.  Those stories were not fun.  Truth be told, I thought for the longest time that there was something wrong with me because I didn’t love these classics.  I figured out later that they just weren’t my cup of tea. Another genre that falls into this category is chick lit.  Chick lit is genre fiction which addresses issues of modern womanhood, often humorously and lightheartedly. Although it sometimes includes romantic elements, chick lit is generally not considered a direct subcategory of the romance novel genre, because the heroine’s relationship with her family or friends is often just as important as her romantic relationships – via Goodreads.  Nah, I’d prefer things a little darker and more paranormal, thanks.

Historical/Biographical non fiction is a fantastic genre.  I read about a lot of great leaders in history.  I also read about quite a few notorious serial killers. I read about the old west and the characters that built it.  I read about the Trail of Tears and hated that something like that happened.  I read about John F. Kennedy, Winston Churchill, Princess Diana, Charles Manson, Queen Mary, and Hitler. I read about World War 1, 2, Korea and Vietnam. History is an ever changing thing.  You may think that history is written down and that’s the way it is.  Well, it’s not.  Artifacts, ideations, written words – all these things are being discovered every day.  Academics that are not afraid to rock the boat are releasing their theories by testing all sorts of science.  Just last December all the major news sources ran the story about dinosaur feathers found trapped in amber.  (See National Geographic’s article) In my opinion, a person has to keep an open mind and keep reading because once learning stops then questions stop.

Here is where I contradict myself.  Learning about history and the lives of great leaders and events is something I love, but reading about non fiction regarding someone’s true life story is where I stop.  I understand the things that don’t kill you make you stronger.  Cancer, death, mental instability, true crime, identity crisis, survival, tragedy – all these things and more would be great resources for learning, but I won’t read about them.  I suppose it’s because I can relate to these people but not the big names in history.

 

Check next week for more discussion in Talking Books with Nell and continuing about different genres.

 

 

Follow One Book Two via:

 Bloglovin_small Facebook_small Twitter_small googleplus_small Pinterest_small NetworkdBlog_small Feedly_small

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

About Nervous Nell Justice

I read, read and then read. I love my life as a reviewer because I get to meet some awesome people who love books too. It's a fantastic world to live in!My favorite genres: Urban Fantasy, Regency Romance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal Thrillers, Paranormal Mysteries, Vampire Romance, Historical, Contemporary or Futuristic Mysteries and Thrillers, Steampunk Fantasy and Mysteries, Police Procedurals and Political Thrillers.

Posted on June 27, 2017, in Blog Memes, Book Chat, Book Hunt, Nervous Nellie. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

