Kat Mandu’s New Groove

Hello blog friends! You might have noticed it’s been rather quiet on the site lately. My fellow reviewers and I have had some ups and downs and well, occasionally life gets in the way of doing things you really love. So to be honest, a couple of us are behind on ALL THE THINGS. But eventually, we’ll get back to a groove again.

But because you haven’t heard from me lately, I’d like to update you on what I’m up to these days. Plus what you can expect from me in the next several months.

Review Schedule!
I’ve been frantically trying to get through my long queue of requests from authors whose books I’ve accepted. Here’s a list of ten coming your way – and if you’re an author waiting on a review from me, I promise I’ll get to it soon.

Novus – Crystal Marcos
The Dragon’s Playlist – Laura Bickle
Superheroes in Prose, V2 – Sevan Paris
Southern Bound – Stuart Jaffe
Starlight – William Stacey
The Last Dinner Party – Carly M Duncan
Doc Graystone: Masks of Mayhem – Nicholas Olivo
Their Solitary Way – JN Chaney
Demon Princess – Kassandra Lynn
Rebels & Fools – David Michael Williams

Upcoming Read-Along!!
Staring August fourth, you can join me and other readers in a read-along of two awesome urban fantasy trilogies. Check out the dates, books, and events below!

Double-Triple Fae

The Shadow Reader trilogy by Sandy Williams

The Shadow Reader – August 4- August 10
The Shattered Dark – August 11 – 17
The Sharpest Blade – August 18 – 24

The Abby Sinclair trilogy by Allison Pang

August 25 -August 31 A Brush of Darkness
September 1 – September 7 A Sliver of Shadow
September 8 – September 13 A Trace of Moonlight

 

 

 

 

 

Writing News!!!
Writing is another one of the things I haven’t kept up with lately. I hit a bad slump in my personal life in the last month and haven’t really had the motivation to work on my pain YA project. It’s a good news, bad news moment because I’ve had the inspiration to write a couple short stories in the meantime. You can find one of them – Trouble – on WattPad! I’m excited to introduce you to some of the first characters I’ve ever worked with. And if you like urban fantasy with touches of romance and humor, these stories might be for you. Trouble is currently halfway done – and I’ve got plans to bring two more novellas into the mx once it is.

Please feel free to let me know what you think! You can find it here!

In other writing news, I’ve got two other projects I work on.

For one, I’m a D&D dungeon master (Dungeons and Dragons for those of you unfamiliar with the term) and I’ve got a nice, magical (and maniacal) murder mystery that needs a lot of tedious planning and mapping. It’s a lot of work – but it’s also a lot of fun! Are you a D&D player? Tell me some of your experiences. I love hearing fun roleplay stories.

I’m also teaming up with my little brother and together we’re stepping out onto the machinima scene. Machinima is the method of making animated film using software similar to that designed for making video and computer games. For those of you who are gamers and might enjoy this type of filming, here’s a great example of machinima: Rooster Teeth’s Red vs Blue, a web-series based on the Halo games with a comical twist.

Granted, these guys rule the roost, so there’s no way our project will be that awesome. But it’ll be fun to make our own scripts and play around the cinematic effects. I’ll keep you updated on our progress (and give you a link to our YouTube channel) but in the meantime, enjoy a Red vs Blue clip (I’m a huge fan, in case you couldn’t tell).

So as you can see, I’m up to a lot lately. And I’m also working two jobs. But I wanted you guys to know I’m still here, so thanks to those of you who still read and/or follow the blog. I’m grateful for your support! Stay tuned for more upcoming reviews, writing posts, and other book stuff! Read on fellow readers, read on!

Kat Mandu

About Kat Mandu

I'm an urban fantasy and young-adult paranormal writer. I love to cook, rock out to music, and read as much as I can get my hands on. Always believe in your dreams and pursue them no matter what the cost. If you believe in it, it's worth every chance you take.

Posted on July 25, 2017, in Kat Mandu, Read-Along Updates, Site News. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nervous Nell Justice

    You rock, Kat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

