Tarnished Prophecy by Ann Gimpel

 

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

35027345Title: Tarnished Prophecy
Author: Ann Gimpel
Series: Soul Dance Book 03
Publish Date: April 27, 2017
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Source: Provided by the publisher via Netgalley

Publisher’s Description: Germany, 1940

Magic runs strong in Ilona, a gypsy seer. Powerful ability isn’t valued in Romani women, so she focuses her fortunetelling on inconsequential details. Nothing that could come back to haunt her caravan if a prediction went bad. Rounded up and dumped in Dachau prison camp, she has plenty of time to rue her decision to downplay her ability. If she’d taken the time to scry her own future, she’d still be free.

A wolf shifter, Jamal made the mistake of wedding a Romani woman centuries ago. His arrogance caused both death and heartache, and he’s been alone ever since. The recent threat of vampires joining the Third Reich has provided ample reason for shifters and Rom to lay their ancient enmity aside and work together, but their détente is fragile.

Jamal and a group of shifters come across Ilona after her escape from Dachau. Vulnerable, terrified, she’s fully prepared to fight. Her courage and mettle touch places in him he’d thought were dead, but she’s Romani. His last relationship ended so badly, the last thing he needs is to fall for another gypsy woman. He wrestles his tumbling emotions into submission, but when she trains her enigmatic, gray gaze on him, his resolve first weakens and then vanishes entirely.

 


Luna_Lovebooks_100Luna Lovebooks says…

Here we are back in WWII Germany with a whole new Rom/Shifter love story with some of our old favorites sprinkled in. I must say that I was still wishing for more Romani/shifter versus the Nazis and less vampire hunter Romani/shifters. But I enjoyed the story.

I was glad that Tairin’s father, Jamal, finally got his happy ending after the heartbreak in Tarnished Beginnings. Ilona is a strong woman and I love the fact that these novels are filled with men who love strong, independent women. I mean let’s face it, Ilona uses her brain and magic to  break out of a work camp and more (I’d list all of her bad-assery but I don’t want to spoil the read)! I still like the lore as well. I was kind of disappointed that they made Anubis a bad guy. I would have liked to have the first shifter in future stories.

Over all this is a quick read with a few steamy love scenes and some interesting battles. I give it 4 wing beats. badge4v5

 

 

Other recommendations…

Try these other great shifter romance reads: Taken by the Shark by Jane Rowe, The Mane Event by Shelly Laurenston, Dragon Actually by G.A. Aiken

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on July 28, 2017, in 4-Good, Both Genders, Luna Lovebooks, Paranormal Romance, Review, Romance. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

