Carnifex by D. P. Prior

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

CarnifexTitle: Carnifex
Author: D. P. Prior
Series: Legend of the Nameless Dwarf Book 01
Publish Date: January 15th 2016, Homunculus
Genre: High Fantasy
Source: Publisher
Publisher’s Description: For more than a thousand years, the dwarves have hidden away from the world in their ravine city of Arx Gravis.
Governed by an inflexible council whose sole aim is to avoid the errors of the past, the defining virtue of their society is that nothing should ever change.

But when the Scriptorium is broken into, and Ravine Guard Carnifex Thane sees a homunculus fleeing the scene of the crime, events are set in motion that will ensure nothing will ever be the same again.

Deception and death are coming to Arx Gravis.

The riddles that preceded Carnifex’s birth crystalize into a horrifying fate that inexorably closes in.

But it is in blood that legends are born, and redemption is sometimes seeded in the gravest of sins.
For Carnifex is destined to become the Ravine Butcher, before even that grim appellation is forever lost, along with everything that once defined him.


Luna Lovebooks says…Luna_Lovebooks_100

It is rare to find a fantasy story centered around dwarves, and I enjoyed the world building. The dwarven world was captured quite well in my opinion. Their culture is an odd mix of Scottish and Viking. Masculinity is prized, but it is a matriarchal society. Outsiders are not welcome, and this has lead to a stagnation of their culture. But exciting things are about to happen whether the dwarves want to admit it or not. 

The characters were well written in my opinion, if not what we would consider traditional dwarves. Most of the dwarves I am familiar with live deep underground. These dwarves live very much like humans. I can’t decide if this adds to the story or takes away from it. But I think I am leaning more towards the non-traditional tropes adding to the dwarf mythos.

The plot was a little slow in places, but it is fun and adventurous. The battle scenes are not something to be laughed at. It can be extremely difficult to write a scene involving combat well. Prior’s are violent and gripping, however.

I will admit that when writing this review I had to step outside myself to write it well. I, personally, did not enjoy this story as well as I thought I would. That isn’t to say that badge4v5Carnifex isn’t a wonderfully written work because it is, it just wasn’t for me. I may try to go back to it at another time to see if my opinion changes. This also makes it very hard to rate. Because of my lack of enjoyment I really want to give it a three, however, I am settling on a 4 because it is well written and I may come back to it at a later date.

Other recommendations…

If you like dwarves check out these other great reads: The Dwarves by Markus Heitz, The Crystal Shard by R.A. Salvatore, The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

I received an ARC or review copy of this book from the author/publisher. All opinions are my own.

About Luna Lovebooks

I love books! I also write in my spare time but due to a crazy life and millions of ideas, I have yet to finish something :/

Posted on August 29, 2017, in 4-Good, High Fantasy, Luna Lovebooks, Male, Review. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

