Blog Archives

Nell’s Gossip and Book Hunt 11/10/19


Welcome to my Sunday book hunt and author gossip.  Keep coming back for updates on book releases and news from favorite authors.

Back with new releases again… they keep writin’ them, we keep readin’ them.

I am so glad there are authors because I just LOVE books.  Ebooks, audiobooks, paperbacks – love ‘em.  Last week I told you about the Other Side of the Grave by Jeaniene Frost.  It’s on her website and it’s free.  It’s the first 4 chapters (so far) of the first book she wrote, Halfway to the Grave except it’s from Bones’ point of view.  It’s incredibly fun to read what the stoic, no nonsense, centuries old master vampire Bones thinks as he falls in love.  Hee hee.  Bones with hearts circling his head.  *snicker* How hard they fall.  HA!

Full disclosure here. I gotta tell you one drawback.  You and I know about our stash of books on our TBR pile. You know that pile – the pile we sometimes hide from loved ones in case they think we need an intervention. Yeah, that pile.  I’m not reducing it when I come across these kinds of tempting novellas  You ask why on earth would that be a problem? Well, from reading these three chapters, I couldn’t help myself and went back to my old books from the series and started re-reading them.  I’m now halfway through the second book in the series.  I forgot how good that series really is.  With that being said, any newbies that are looking for a good romance and action packed series, the Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost would be a excellent recommendation.

From the escapades of Bones and Cat, we meet a LOT of vampires.  We meet Ian, Mencheres (who are Bones’ sire and grand sire respectively) and Spade to start.  The Night Huntress series spawns The Night Huntress World where Mencheres and Spade find their special someones.  The Night Rebel series focuses on Ian.  The first book in the Night Rebel series is called Shades of Wicked.  It was released October 30, 2018.  Now, book #2 will be released early next year and that book will be called…

Title: Wicked Bite
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Series:  Night Rebel #2
Release date:  January 28, 2020
Description: Some promises are meant to be broken…

Veritas spent most of her life as a vampire Law Guardian. Now, she’s about to break every rule by secretly hunting down the dark souls that were freed in order to save Ian. But the risks are high. For if she gets caught, she could lose her job. And catching the sinister creatures might cost Veritas her own life.

Some vows are forever…

Ian’s memories might be fragmented, but this master vampire isn’t about to be left behind by the woman who entranced him, bound herself to him, and then disappeared. So what if demons, other Law Guardians, and dangerous, otherworldly forces stand against them? Come hell or high water, Ian intends to remind Veritas of the burning passion between them, because she is the only person seared on his mind–and his soul…

While surfing around, I found another similar kind of read.  It’s from 2012, but that doesn’t mean it’s not good.  Check it out.

Title:  Wicked as They Come
Author:  Delilah S. Dawson
Series:  Blud #1
Release Date:  March 27, 2012
Description: When nurse Tish Everett forced open the pesky but lovely locket she found at an estate sale, she had no idea she was answering the call of Criminy Stain, from the far off land of Sang. He’d cast a spell for her, but when she’s transported right to him, she’s not so sure she’s ready to be under the spell of another man. (It didn’t go so well last time with controlling, abusive, domineering Jeff.) If only Criminy wasn’t so deliciously rakish….

Half the inhabitants of Sang are Pinkies—human—and the other half are Bludmen, who in Tish’s world would be called vampires. But they don’t mess with any of the bat/coffin/no sunlight nonsense. They’re rather like you and me, just more fabulous, long living, and mostly indestructible. (They’re also very good kissers.) But when the evil Mayor of Manchester (formerly Bludchester) redoubles his efforts to rid Sang of the Bludmen once and for all, stealing Tish’s locket in hopes of traveling back to her world himself for reinforcements, Criminy and Tish must battle ghosts, sea monsters, wayward submarines, a secret cabal, and thundering Bludmares to get the locket back and allow Tish to return home…but has she found love with Criminy? Could she stay in Sang forever?


Follow One Book Two on Social Media via:

   Bloglovin_small Feedly_small RSSFeed_small

%d bloggers like this: