Trapped by Kevin Hearne

After twelve years of secret training, Atticus O’Sullivan is finally ready to bind his apprentice, Granuaile, to the earth and double the number of Druids in the world. But on the eve of the ritual, the world that thought he was dead abruptly discovers that he’s still alive, and they would much rather he return to the grave. .

trappedTitleTrapped
Author: Kevin Hearne
Series: Iron Druid Chronicles Book 5
Publish Date: November 27, 2012
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchased

Publisher’s Description: After twelve years of secret training, Atticus O’Sullivan is finally ready to bind his apprentice, Granuaile, to the earth and double the number of Druids in the world. But on the eve of the ritual, the world that thought he was dead abruptly discovers that he’s still alive, and they would much rather he return to the grave.

Having no other choice, Atticus, his trusted Irish wolfhound, Oberon, and Granuaile travel to the base of Mount Olympus, where the Roman god Bacchus is anxious to take his sworn revenge—but he’ll have to get in line behind an ancient vampire, a band of dark elves, and an old god of mischief, who all seem to have KILL THE DRUID at the top of their to-do lists.

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


ivana 100Invested Ivana says…

I am having a ball listening to the Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne.  The narrator, Luke Daniels, does a fantastic job with all the voices, especially Oberon, the Irish wolfhound and Perun, the Norse thunder god.  Being a fan of cultures, I’ve always liked stories of the Celtic, Greek, Roman, and Norse pantheons, so it’s fun to see them all come to life and interact in the petty and political ways they do in the myths.  I even started a Pinterest board for the characters, but I haven’t gotten very far yet.

However, I have to admit that I struggled with Trapped.  I’ve listened to it twice and just didn’t get caught up in it as much as I have the others.  I’m not sure why, exactly.  Maybe I miss the bookstore, Hal, and the Widow MacDounagh.  Maybe it’s because Atticus, Granuaile, and Oberon spend the book running from place to place so the story never feels “settled.”  Maybe it’s because I just want to smack Atticus upside the head for being a dufus. The restriction on traveling and interrupted task makes the book feel a bit confined and stilted, which is probably intended given the plot and title.

In Trapped, LOTS of people come gunning for Atticus: Baccus, the svartálfar, a contingent of greek vampires, Artemis and Diana, Loki and Hel.  In every case, Atticus is being hunted because of something stupid he did in the past.  One would think that after living SO long, one would learn how to take the long view of things.  But nooo.  Not Atticus O’Sullivan, last of the druids.

badge3v4Atticus is NOT the last of the druids by the end of the book, thank goodness.  After twelve years, Granuaile finally becomes a full druid and does she ever kick ass!  I think Granuaile is my new hero.

Because I could, I jumped right into Hunted and I’m already caught up in that one pretty hard.  Now I’m just hoping my favorite redheads both come out of their latest predicament alive.  I did notice that Granuaile is NOT on the cover of Hunted! 😯

Percy_Procrastinator_100Percy Procrastintor says…

Things I didn’t like: Very little. If I had to stretch it, maybe that after getting my big jump in time, that then we don’t have much happen. Maybe how much belief structures the gods in that some gods then are much more powerful in some ways but not enough in another.

Things I liked: The rest of it. I did enjoy this book. I liked the ritual of what they had to do to become a druid. I like how they explain about magic and what it can do. I like druidical magic and what they are able to do. I really liked the perspective it gave me on vampires. Nothing new that other books hadn’t done but a great perspective on them.

badge5v4I flew though this book and enjoyed it. Great ideas, fun characters, like Atticus, Granuaile, Oberon, and the Morrigan. I like the magic, I like the planes, I liked the descriptions of how vampires can be hit by druidic magic.

Great series.

Stand Out Award Badge2Other reviews:

If you like this book…

The Iron Druid Chronicles are often compared to Jim Butcher’s the Dresden Files series.  I think readers of one would probably like the other.  The Remy Chandler series by Thomas E. Snigoski is another obvious choice.  The protagonist, angel Remy Chandler, can also speak to his dog, and I believe the series is also narrated by Luke Daniels.

About Invested Ivana

I'm an adult learning professional, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of my employers, my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on June 15, 2015, in All Reviews, Standout Award and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I think I should give this series another shot – I stopped after two books, but not because I didn’t enjoy them. In fact, they were great and I really liked the humor. It’s just I can only take a 2000 year old druid that sounds like a frat boy in small doses 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That was EXACTLY what I said when I first read the books. I think it was even around Book 2 when I said it. 🙂 The audios helped me break through that because they are so damn entertaining.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Audiobook News & Reviews: 06/13 – 06/15 | ListenUp Audiobooks

  2. Pingback: Hounded by Kevin Hearne | One Book Two

  3. Pingback: Hexed by Kevin Hearne | One Book Two

  4. Pingback: Hammered by Kevin Hearne | One Book Two

  5. Pingback: Tricked by Kevin Hearne | One Book Two

  6. Pingback: Staked by Kevin Hearne | One Book Two

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.