Dark Divinity by Amy Braun

Another great installment of the Cursed series by Amy Braun!

eBook Cover200Title:  Dark Divinity
Author:  Amy Braun
SeriesCursed Book 02
Publish Date:  December 1, 2015
Genre:  Urban Fantasy
Source: Provided by the author

Publisher’s Description:  Hell has risen. Heaven is descending. Sacrifices are made…

It’s been two months since Constance Ramirez’s adopted sister Andromeda was used as the Key to opening the Gates of Heaven and Hell. They escaped with their lives, but made countless enemies as a result.

Now that demons are beginning to weave into ordinary lives, their only hope is to find a way to close the Gates of Heaven and Hell before the angels and demons begin a war. Something that becomes only harder as one of Constance’s deadliest enemies resurfaces.

But as they struggle to stay alive and find the Gates, they learn that a huge sacrifice will be required if they succeed, and this time, Constance isn’t sure the cost will outweigh the reward…

Possible spoilers beyond this point.


∼Giveaway Winner∼

Leiah Cooper
soireadthisbooktoday.com

Congratulations, Leiah!  You’re getting a great book!  Let us know what you think once you’ve read it.  Thanks for being a One Book Two reader!  Thanks also to author Amy Braun for providing the book for this giveaway.


Nervous_Nellie_100Nervous Nellie says…

I am so glad I didn’t miss this series. It’s fantastic how the characters keep going and going and going… They beat odds that are nil for success.  There are 5 major characters and each one pulled me in and made me love them.  If I had to pick, I would probably choose the angel warrior, Sephriel as my ultimate favorite.  He has the most interesting history.  It’s no mistake he has the most painful history too.

Angels are, I think, truly identified in this story.  They are not the choir singing, harp wielding kind of angels that are normally portrayed.  These angels are focused warriors.  They do not care if humans are collateral damage as long as Lucifer is destroyed.  Michael, the archangel, is prettier than John Travolta and Lucifer is devastatingly beautiful with a whole lot of evil mixed in.

Constance’s life is replayed in snippets and it becomes blatantly obvious how damaged she really is when the betrayal of her lover comes to light.  I have to admire her loyalty to her adopted sister.  I have to admire Connie’s fearlessness and bravery.  For a human, she is a powerful protector.  There was a lot of pain for the characters in this story.  Pain and fear and a whole lot of running for their lives.  Every time things look bleak and foreboding, somehow a turn is taken and a twist becomes the light at the end of the tunnel.

badge4v4If you haven’t read book one, get it and devour it.  Book two is incredible.  It’s fast paced, emotional and well written.  Good writing, Ms. Braun. You have a lifelong fan in me!

Invested_Ivana_100Invested Ivana says…

While I really loved the first installment in the Cursed series, Demon’s Daughter, there were two things I hoped to see in subsequent novels… Dro step up into her role as the supernatural baddie in the group and Constance get over her reluctance to trust another human.  I’m happy to say that Dark Divinity delivers!

It does take the whole novel for Connie to work through her past relationship issues, but she finally does it in the end.  Hopefully we’ll see her open up even more in Book 03.  And I was so proud of Dro when she finally told Connie that it was her turn to be the protector.  Yay!  It really does feel like Dro comes into her own confidence and power in this novel, which is great to see.

More of Connie’s backstory is delivered slowly through flashbacks to her time with the Blood Thorns.  If you are not a fan of the flashback method, it might bother you.  I know my hubby loathes the flashback method of story telling.  It doesn’t bother me, so I just enjoyed learning more about the time in Dro and Connie’s lives before Book 1.  Because the flashbacks focus on Connie’s intense relationship as a young adult, so it is a bit melodramatic but it fits with her history.

badge4v4Overall, I really enjoyed Dark Divinity.  It’s a good urban fantasy series that is definitely on my watch list. 🙂

Our reviews in this series…

Stand Out Award Badge2Other reviews…

If you like this book…

…you might like the Elemental Assassin series by Jennifer Estep, the Redneck Apocalypse series by eden Hudson, or the Cal Leandros series by Rob Thurman.

About Invested Ivana

I'm an adult learning professional, a book blogger at One Book Two, and lifetime reader. I like geeky things. All opinions expressed on this site are my own and do not reflect the opinions of my employers, my clients, the other reviewers on this site, or this site as a whole.

Posted on December 15, 2015, in All Reviews, Standout Award and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.